Blog

How to Manage Data in the Roster Tab

How to Manage Data in the Roster Tab

The Roster tab of the employee record is used to link client(s) with an employee for service delivery. There are some key functions to the roster.

 

First, it is a point of control for restricting the clients that an employee has access to. In the OTC Global Permissions section of Desktop Security, there is an option to allow users to only see their assigned clients.  The security setting is found by going to Configure–>Security–>Configure Roles–>Select Role–>OTC Global Permissions–>Only show assigned clients.

 

 

When this rule is enforced, the user's can only view the clients added to their roster. It is critical to then have defined processes for who manages employee rosters and how clients get added so that users can efficiently write notes and/or perform other client related tasks.

 

If the Assigned Clients Only box is NOT checked, and rosters are still created, then users can toggle to see their caseload as desired. This is handled under the Options menu.

 

 

If the option to uncheck the box is available, then doing so provides access to all of the clients within the assigned cost center(s).  The user's associated cost centers may be checked by default, but can be toggled in order to display the required clients in the search grid.

 

 

The system by default will associate the user to their home cost center, which is established in the employee record when the individual is first setup in the Employees section.  Additional cost centers can be opened up by going to Configure–>Security–>Configure Users–>Select User Name–>Cost Centers (Assigned to this user).  The default cost center(s) are also managed here.

 

 

The Roster also serves as a way for documenting when employee's become credentialed to work with clients. By using the Date Completed field, the date can indicate when the employee became certified to work with the client.

 

 

The Don't Send check box becomes important when the client/employee relationship is no longer valid. If the client is added to the roster and this box is checked, then the scheduler will be notified not to schedule the two together in the event they are. This is a validation rule in securities to manage how this notification is handled.

 

 

There is another validation that pertains to the Roster, called Employee Client Training. This works in conjunction with a check box on the Service Authorization screen. When setting up an authorization, there is an option to enforce rosters to be used per service. When scheduling for the service, the system will perform a check to ensure the client/employee relationship is valid.

 

 

 

To add a client to an employee roster, click on the "+ Add" button.

(To make edits to an existing roster entry, click to highlight the roster entry in the list view).

 

 

Select the Client.

 

Optionally enter the Date Completed.

 

Optionally check the Don't send check box.

 

Click on the "update" button to save the information to the employee record, or click on "cancel" to cancel any edits.