Blog

Create Batch Billing from Time Records

Create Batch Billing from Time Records

This section provides an overview of the process for creating batch billing from time records in OnTarget.

 

This is a critical step in the billing cycle and the purpose is to import all Time Records that are ready to be billed.  This function aggregates the units for each client, date of service and service.  For example, if a client has multiple workers in a day for a given service, the units provided by each worker are represented individually on a time record.  When batching those time records, the units combine together so that they get submitted on a single claim.

 

The first step in creating batch billing is to click on Time Records, which by default is located under the Billing Desktop.

 

 

 

 

This automatically pulls up the Time Records search grid.  There are some filters that need to be entered prior to creating batch billing.  Set the In Current Batch filter to “No”.  This ensures that only records that are not already sitting in batch billing will be returned.  Next, set the Billed filter to “No”.  This ensures that only records that have never been billed will be returned.  Finally, set the Eligible for Billing filter to “Eligible”.  This ensures that the search returns only records for services that are eligible for billing.  Any additional filters, such as date range, can be set to further restrict the time records search grid.  Click on Search to display time records based on the filters that have been set.

 

 

 

 

Search results reflect the billing that is to be processed, so the filters should be set accordingly.

 

If this is the first time that batch billing is being created, it is recommended that a new view be saved.  The view will allow filters to be saved so they don’t have to be set them every time a specific search is run.  To create a view, set the filters and then click the Save View button.

 

 

 

 

 

Click “New View” and give it a name.  "Existing View" is used when there is a need to modify an already saved view.  Once a view is saved it can be pulled up at any time from the drop-down and it will then properly set all of the saved filters.  This view is visible only to the logged in user unless it is made global to all users.  A view can be made global to all users in the database by clicking on the "Edit Views" button (wrench icon) and checking Global.

 

 

 

 

With the appropriate filters set, batch billing can be created from time records.  By clicking on Create Batch Billing, one of two options can be selected.  The first option is “From Selected”.  This allows for batch billing to be created from individually selected time records.  The second option is “From All”.  This option creates batch billing from all time records currently visible in the search grid.

 

 

 

 

Validations may or may not be presented once the processing has completed.  These messages show any billing that may be out of compliance; for example, overlapping time or units exceeding authorization limits.  If validations are presented, a decision must be made  for whether to override selected validations and continue processing or select do not override and continue processing.  If override selected validations and continue processing is selected, time records will be created.  If do not override and continue processing is selected, no time records will be created.

 

 

 

 

Security settings determine whether or not override capabilities are present as well as whether or not certain validations run for a particular log-in.  To learn more about validations and how these are best managed, please see the Configure section of our help files and look for the security videos.

 

Any time records that did not get overridden will remain in the time records grid.  Likewise, any time record that is in blocked mode, color coded in red, or in revision mode, color-coded in blue will not import into the batch and will remain in time records.  These statuses are only in play when notes are implemented.  Because it is critical that billing always matches the note documentation, the system will automatically track when the billing and notes are out of sync.

 

Revision records indicate a note that was at one time approved has subsequently been unapproved.  If that note has not yet been billed but has been imported to time records, the system will place it in revision mode and prevent it from batching until the note is re-approved. Use the Note Billing Approved column to monitor this status. If the Note Billing Approved box is checked and the time record is in revision mode, it just means that the note has been re-approved and another import to time records needs to happen.

 

 

 

 

The system will pick up any note edits that affected billing and update the time record automatically so that they billing matches the note. To reimport the time record, go to the Notes desktop, search for the note, and then click the Create Time Records button.  Note that part of this automated process also accounts for re-billing, so if the time had already been billed and the note edit warrants a re-bill, then the system will perform the rebill when the time record is created.

 

The blocked status, in red, indicates that a re-bill does in fact need to occur.  The re-bill cannot yet happen because the original claim has not been adjudicated yet.  Once the claim reference number has been applied and the claim is paid or denied, then the system will complete the re-bill accordingly. 

 

 

 

 

Unlike revision records, which require action, there is nothing to do with blocked records other than to monitor them to make sure that they move from blocked status to OK.