Blog

Security: How to Configure Users

Security: How to Configure Users

  • This section covers the process for adding and configuring users  in OnTarget Clinical:

     

    Start by going to Configure–>Security–>Configure Users.  Click on Add User. 

     

     

    Create a username with the naming convention of choice.  First Name and Last Name are optional, and helpful if it is not clearly indicated in the user name.  A valid email address is required so that the user can reset their password should they forget it.  The system will send the reset link to this email on file for the user.

     

     

    The user must be linked to a valid employee record in order to sign into the program.  There is one exception to this rule (explained in the next section).  The employee record is created in the Employees desktop and the minimum required information should be entered in order to establish the record.  This link between the user name and employee ID is critical for the signing of notes, as it is a means for authenticating the electronic signature.  This link also serves as a digital signature if the graphic image of the signature is not uploaded.

     

    A client is linked to the user name typically when someone from outside the agency will be signing into the program to review a particular client’s record.  A good example of this usage is when a parent would like to be able to review the components of their child’s record.  Another good example is when a case manager, care coordinator or even an auditor from another agency needs to review  a client’s chart.  With this link, there is no need to link the user to the employee; as often this type of user is not an employee within the agency. When the user is linked to the client, they will be automatically granted read only rights to view only this client's treatment plan, approved notes and schedule.

     

    Give the user a password and then confirm the password.  The password needs to meet the standard requirements of a strong password (at least one capital letter, 1 number, 1 symbol and 7 or more characters). 

    Note:  It may be most beneficial for users to create a password that will be memorable for them.  In this case, the Require Password Change on Next Login box should be checked initially so users will be prompted to create their own upon their initial log-in.  This allows the administrator to easily create generic passwords for each user and then allow them to create more meaningful ones.

     

    Administrators may also choose to never require a password to change.  This setting overrides the password reset configuration managed under Edit Company Settings.  The number of days between password reset should mirror the company policies for protecting electronic health data.

     

     

    The Notifications check box (shown above) allows the security administrator to dictate if each user should receive email notifications when tasks are assigned to them.  Because tasks can play a critical role in managing the data, especially the notes, administrators may want to ensure that this additional notification is occurring so that staff are fully aware when there are open items to be addressed or messages that need to be conveyed.  If the administrator does not enable this here, then the user can enable it themselves by going to Options and Preferences.

     

    If the user will be writing or approving notes, then a determination should be made for what type of signature will be applied to the note.  This can be a digital signature, as mentioned earlier, or electronic.  The electronic signature will require an upload of the individual's signature.  The two most common ways for capturing this type of signature are either through an electronic signature pad or by scanning a written signature.  Once captured, the signature will be uploaded by browsing to the saved image file.  If digital signatures are implemented, then there is no need to upload a file here.  The employee link to the user name above, and the absence of an uploaded file here, is how the system knows to apply the digital signature. 

     

    Determine which cost centers the user will be allowed to access for client and employee data.  The system by default will associate the user to their home cost center, which is established in the employee record when the individual is first setup in the Employees section.  When the employee is linked to the user above, the system then knows to display the client and employee data for that cost center as dictated through desktop securities.  Additional cost centers can be opened up as necessary.  If a user should see all of the clients and employees within the organization then be sure to check All.  It is recommended to check each cost center as a default so that the client and employee data automatically loads when logging-in.  If the default is not checked, then the user will have to toggle the cost centers through the Options menu.

     

    Lastly, assign each user to a role.  This is critical as the role is what dictates the rights each user has when logging-in.  The role is setup under Configure Roles and each role is granted the corresponding permissions for each section of the program.  Click on Save to save the information.